Stephen King ErhebungSylvain Neuvel Giants Die letzte SchlachtIan Hamilton Der schottische Bankier von SurabayaArturo Pérez Reverte Der Tod den man stirbtBrandon Sanderson Der Ruf der KlingenGuillermo Arriaga Der WildePedram Shojai Die Kunst die Zeit anzuhaltenStewart ONan Stadt der GeheimnisseAileen Burford Mason Was das Gehirn essen willMuhammad Yunus Ein anderer Kapitalismus ist machbarRobin Sloan Der zauberhafte Sauerteig der Lois Clary

Für ihren Roman »The Ninth Hour« (La Neuvième Heure) ist die amerikanische Schriftstellerin Alice McDermott mit dem Prix femina étranger 2018 ausgezeichnet worden. Wir gratulieren!

Alice McDermott La Neuvième Heure

"Superb and masterful….There are so many ways to read this beautiful novel: as a Greek tragedy with its narrative chorus and the sins of the fathers; as a Faulknerian tale out to prove once more that the “past is not even past”; as a gothic tale wrestling with faith, punishment and redemption à la Flannery O’Connor; or as an Irish novel in the tradition of Anne Enright and Colm Tóibín, whose sentences, like hers, burn on the page." (The Washington Post)

"Ce roman lumineux confirme la place qu’occupe Alice McDermott parmi les grands auteurs américains d’aujourd’hui." (Le Figaro littéraire)

USA: Farrar Straus Giroux; UK: Bloomsbury; Italy: Stile libero; China: Zhejiang Literature & Art; Spain: Libros del Asteroide; France: La Table Ronde; Catalan: Minuscule;

BEST OF 2017 lists:
New York Times Book Review's 100 Notable Books of 2017
The Washington Post's 50 Notable Works of Fiction 2017
The Wall Street Journal's Top 10 Novels of 2017
Time Magazine's Top 10 Novels of 2017
NPR's Best Books of 2017
Kirkus Reviews' Best Fiction & Best Historical Fiction of 2017
Library Journal's Top 10 Novels of 2017
Barnes & Noble's 25 Best Fiction Books of 2017